UU Mormon

Had to “come out”

Posted on: October 9, 2009

It was becoming apparent that folks in my LDS ward were noticing that we weren’t there.  My kids were assigned speaking parts (which were mailed to us) in the Primary program coming up later this fall, and Horatio was starting to get emails from the bishopric asking if we were still living in the ward.

So rather than try to be vague and evasive and make my life harder, I bit the bullet and sent an email to the bishop explaining exactly what we’re doing. And mentioned that it’s been a really good experience, we’re doing great, and I’m still in contact with my visiting teachers.

The response I got back was SO NICE.  Basically he just said that they want to make sure we’re okay, and he’s glad things are going well, and please keep in touch.  No pressure, no lectures.  My bishop is a really good guy.

I know not everyone gets that kind of response when they disappear off the face of the church.  I feel lucky.  I wonder if it helped that I said we were taking a sabbatical for the school year.  Maybe it’s less threatening if it’s a temporary situation.

2 Responses to "Had to “come out”"

Glad that you had such a good experience. I hope this is indicative of more good trends for the ward that you’re in.

[…] for those who do choose to take a break from Mormonism, Phylomytha had quite a positive experience: The response I got back was SO NICE. Basically he just said that they want to make sure we’re […]

Leave a Reply

